An Extraordinary Life

Yesterday afternoon, I realized how empty the house was, with my husband away in Europe, and nothing pressing to do. Strangled by the quietness, I left, brooding over my un-extraordinary life, and drove around listening to a Brahms concerto, feeling directionless. I parked my car in a strip mall to watch the sun set in grayish pink tones over a Bank of America and a sparse splattering of shops and ash trees across the busy road. I ate in a Panera Bread and read The Runner’s Rule Book, laughing out loud over my tomato soup at jokes about black toe nails and racing etiquette only runners could find hilarious. I came back to the still empty apartment in the dark, turned on the air conditioner, read about a boy murdered and dismembered in Brooklyn, and pondered on the purpose of this life. Then I sang prayers in my meditation room.

In all of this, I realized the enormous complexity of life, how no one day is contained in a single emotion. I decided it was after all a day of small extraordinary events, and promised myself to mindfully do at least one simple and extraordinary thing every day for the rest of my undetermined length of time here.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

