Mantras

Lately, its on Sundays that I wake before the sun. The earliest rays of light are growing out of the ground as I lace my running shoes and strap a fuel belt around my waist. The trail is humid, but cool, and only the most dedicated among us are out. There are so many miles ahead, miles of tall trees and cornfields, miles of pain and passion, and miles of mantras that change with the needs of my body. “Every step, my lungs gets stronger. Every breath, my smile gets stronger. Every moment, my mind gets stronger…” takes up much of the first five miles. After the gu break at the sixth mile, I take to humming and visualization, picturing an old friend singing to me from the faraway final stretch, “He who puts his trust in God, God will suffice him. He who fears God, God will send him relief.”

Beyond the tenth mile, all that is left is silence broken by the steady beat of my footsteps and the quiet voice inside my heart whispering tenderly to me: “I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul.”

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mantras

  1. Mona says:

    I have to admit that I’m a little jealous.

Leave a Reply

