Small Kindness

I just got caught in a severe thunderstorm during a run, which has never happened to me before. With whole branches flying off the trees, leaves whipping into my face, rain drops pelting me like nails, and loud cracks of too close for comfort thunder all around me, I decided to take shelter under the awning outside a bank and watch the lightning. An elderly couple walked out, and asked me if I was waiting for a ride. When I explained my situation, the man insisted that they drive me home. He proceeded to open up a large blue striped umbrella, take his hobbling and smiling wife by the arm, ushering her to the car with great care, and then came back for me, letting me get the leather interior sopping wet while they told me all about their grandchildren for the mile and a half drive to my apartment.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

