Encouragement

Out of nowhere, a dog came bounding past me on the sidewalk. He slowed to a walk, so that I was forced to slow down as well. When I determined him to be harmless, I ran around him on the grass, and he picked up, passing me again and slowing down once more in front of me. When this went on for several minutes, I stopped and said to him, “You have to go away now. Go.” He just sat on the sidewalk and stared at me, and when I picked up again, there he was beside me, then passing me, then walking in my path. So I said, “Come on!” And he ran with me. For the next two miles, every time he started to walk, I encouraged him to keep going, and in this way I unexpectedly gained a new running companion: an awkward, wide-eyed stray, like myself.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

