Lover Transformed in the Beloved

It’s nearing sundown, and I’m walking a labyrinth in Hawthorn Park. A gibbous moon has already appeared in the pale blue sky. The rose bushes around me are still but whispering in the breeze, and I take in their withered blooms as I round the bends, over and over again. The clouds beyond the forest on one side are cut through with streams of gold, almost the color of candlelight, as if the air has been set on fire and is burning from the ground up. A woodpecker is working away at the bark of a tall tree. And I’m wondering how it ever is that I’ve felt alone in the world when it is absolutely full to the brim. So I return to watching my feet and meditating on Dark Night of the Soul by St. John of the Cross. Reaching the center of the labyrinth, I silently thank the Catholics for this whole idea of walking ourselves into peace with God, and pull out a Baha’i prayer book. “Make my heart overflow with love for Thy creatures,” I recite, and the words stir in the air with depth and presence, resonating like the hum of a singing bowl. And when I finish I prayer, I take a deep breath, and start walking out the way in which I came.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

