Facebook, Post Mortem

When I logged onto Facebook this morning, the news feed included a post on the wall of one of my many barely-acquaintances from Barnard, a girl in my class that I believe lived on my hall my freshman year. It was an announcement from her brother that she had lost a battle with cancer at 1:24 this morning. Her wall was already beginning to flood with condolences and shock. I didn’t even know she had cancer. I can hardly remember ever talking to her, although that didn’t stop that strange twinge of empathetic despair I always experience in the wake of others suffering. It made me think, how all of us will eventually die off one by one, but in this world of social media, our pages will remain like pale ghosts on the internet, aching reminders that we were once not yet gone, and no one will ever be able to bare to take the pages down, until the generations pass and no one can remember what it all meant anymore, that we were once very alive, with hundreds of friends and barely-acquaintances looking after us.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

