Chai

I ordered a chai latte, as I usually do, and found myself thinking about the 10 minute break period we would get when volunteering at the Baha’i Temple in India. On our feet for ten solid hours, giving tours, answering questions, sweeping tides of visitors into the large marble lotus structure by the hundreds, we all had our own 10 minute break in our schedule where we could go to the basement and drink tea. A row of petite mugs and saucers were lined up next to a tap that was filled with rich, creamy, very sweet tea, far better than anything I have ever had in the states. I would sit there in my shalwar kameez or sari and sip from it slowly, enjoying the quality of the tea, the sweetness, the cream, every element of it separately and together. And I would think myself unspeakably blessed, resting my tired bare feet, watching dust mites float aimlessly in the bands of bright afternoon light coming from the stairwell, breathing, being.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

