Reflection

On the first day of the Fast, I was sitting by my kitchen window, taking in a few last sips of water before the sunrise. Taking in the hazy glow of almost morning, I suddenly remembered being at the Omega Institute this past summer, and sitting by myself at lunch time on a bench on the hill overlooking the trees and flowers and all the spiritual seekers on the grass, taking refuge in this strange and happy place. A woman sat down next to me and began to say, “Isn’t it beautiful here?” when she noticed I was wearing a sign that read, “In Silence.” She said, “Oh, I’m sorry, you’re in silence.” I smiled at her. She said, “I’ll just sit with you anyway.” I nodded, and we sat like that for a long time together, like old friends quietly reflecting on childhood memories on a sunny day. And as I remembered all of this, the pinks and purples and oranges began to seep above the houses across the street, then all at once spilled over the sky.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

