Terre Haute, Fully

When I left the conference and went for a walk, that is what I did.

I walked in the off-and-on drizzle through the off-and-on fog.

I left the hospital and found myself in a dingy neighborhood near a cemetery  where soda cans and milk bottles come to rest.

I stared at sparrows perched in a small barren ash tree above a haphazard heap of wood and metal on the side of the road.

They were just silhouettes in the fog, but we’ll call them sparrows because sparrows are lovely, and I hope that’s what they were.

You wouldn’t know anyway, since you weren’t there with me.

I thought to myself, surrounded by maybe sparrows and maybe environmental despair.

I thought, I am legitimately happy in this moment.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Terre Haute, Fully

  1. Anthony says:

    Ashley I love reading your blog. You have such a way with words that you can write about anything and it becomes poetry. I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

  2. papaconquistador says:

    Similar feeling, less poetic – There are these kids that run around my neighborhood, their laughter almost dances in the air. It’s so good to be somewhere kids play. I swing on my porch as they zip back and forth, calling out for cars, chasing dogs. It’s rejuvenating after a long day crammed in an office. One kid – the biggest, fastest of them all – runs with a two-liter of Mountain Dew tucked in the crook of his arm like a football. He stops, chugs, then wipes his mouth with the back of his hand. You can hear his breasts smacking against his chest like a slow, steady applause.

    Obviously, I don’t live far from your sparrows and refuse. Terre Haute, Fully. 🙂

Leave a Reply

