Cheap Nostalgia

On an evening run, a song by Leonard Cohen came on that has this part that goes:

“She is wearing rags and feathers
From Salvation Army counters
And the sun pours down like honey
On our lady of the harbor
And she shows you where to look
Among the garbage and the flowers”

It made me think about this old thrift store coat I bought in the winter of 2007 and frolicked around in joyfully until the lining was shredded out a year later, and how I’ve almost never worn the expensive Macy’s coat that followed it, preferring a cheap coat I bought at a yard sale for five dollars and the oversized bright purple coat I bought sporadically at Walmart in China when I discovered that Hong Kong can be quite cold in the winter. Both are torn beyond repair. I have no plans for winter this year.

salvationarmycounters

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

