May you always start breaking my heart again

Nights pass like so many rivers, without knowing.
This world, with its crooked poems, it’s ragged
bones, its cut-throat lines and tragic endings;
they run across these jagged stones, they trickle
through the nooks between the grievances and
happenstances mistakes that chained us to
each other and somehow alienated us evermore.
I knew you once, under the rough borders of
the stars. But I could never cast a line through
all that space. Paint sense of what it meant,
to be part of a destiny, fluid as rain on the mossy
naked, uncompromising earth. Nothing simple.
Nothing meant to be. Come here and break me
open again. Tear me limb from limb and help me
sing again and use my lungs and live again
in pastures of lost sentences that
I have long forgotten how to put together.
There must be meaning here.
There must be meaning here.
Like so many rivers, where are we going?

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

