Ten Days of Knitting

When having dinner last week, I jokingly reminded my friend who was inquiring when he would be able to see me again that one day of socializing equals about ten days of knitting.

Another day, years before this, driving around with one of my many extroverted Baha’i friends, I stated that I am outgoing but need lots of solitude, in order to explain my inconsistent involvement in community life. He suggested that this introversion may be a symptom of an inconsistent or abusive childhood. As if it was something I didn’t want.

I will go ahead and correct him now, years later. I want to be introverted. I’m very, very happy to be this way.

I think the idea that introversion is somehow a human flaw is a deeply Western, and very inaccurate notion. Perhaps I have for many years been drawn to Buddhism because it is a religion which does not only not judge introversion, but rather embraces and downright cherishes it’s place in the spiritual workings of society at large.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

