296.32

Thursday afternoon, I laid down on the cold floor of my office until the cleaning staff came. I drove home at 35 mph in the far right lane on the highway. I parked my car and stared out the window until it was too dark to see the birds perching, re-perching, re-perching on the electric cables. I entered my home, fed my angry cat, and ate an entire box of macaroni and cheese in silence on the couch. I called out sick and slept until 4pm the next day. I finished one errand and came back to the house, curled back up into the bed still warm from the memory of my stubbornly still beating heart, slept through my morning pranayama group, rushed out of the house in the leggings I slept in, and at long last placed my body, full of blood as heavy as iron, on the mat, put my hands together at heart center, closed my weary eyes, and let the saline fall on the mat like beads of sweat coming from a broken muscle group somewhere deep inside of me that I have no name for.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

