The Cerebral Cortex

Studying for the EPPP on what I would normally categorize as a gorgeously perfect fall day, except it’s January and I live in L.A. now, so it’s actually winter, but every draft of crisp air that sweeps through this room as the door swings open and shut brings back momentary visions of maple and oak trees. And I am drinking a soy chai latte and my notebooks are sprawled across the table, the way I used to do in that cafe I liked so much in college in the Village that sold those peanut butter fudge squares that were the constant companion to my quirky introversion and perpetual English literature essay writing. And the theme song from The Leftovers has come on my Spotify playlist, and I am standing in the kitchen now and you begin to play that piano version of Where Is My Mind from the same soundtrack, and I am standing behind you with tears welling in my eyes watching your fingers float over the keys so effortlessly and I am falling flat on my face in love with you all over again.

About A B

"There is all this untouched beauty, the light, the dark, both running through me." -Over The Rhine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

